Unsupported browser

For a better experience, please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

BGA masters prize winner revealed

Numerical modelling of lateral buckling of subsea pipelines was the subject of the thesis that secured University of Oxford student Jack Templeman the British Geotechnical Association’s 2017 MSc/MEng prize. 

The MSc/MEng Prize is awarded annually by the BGA for the best masters’ degree dissertation on a geotechnical topic.

Templeman beat off submissions from three other candidates to win the prize.

Judges said that all four dissertations were of a very high standard but they were unanimous in selecting Templeman as the winner.

Templeman’s MEng dissertation built on previous PhD work at Oxford to present sophisticated 3D pipeline buckling analyses. The thesis extended the work to model two of the methods commonly used to initiate/control thermal buckling of subsea pipelines, namely sleeper and buoyancy modules and to consider the effect of pipe self-weight.

The judging team said that Templeman’s interpretation of the results provides novel insights into a complex soil-structure interaction problem that is of great interest in offshore engineering.

Other finalists were Sean Feist of the University of Portsmouth who presented Environmental Site Assessment of Farlington Marshes and Baker’s Island: The Legacy of Defence Activities & Consequences for Coastal Management; University of Portsmouth’s Jane Kelsey who looked at the Ground model development for the A35 between Charmouth and Morecombelake, interpreting geological, morphometric and geotechnical alongside slope stability to help mitigate against mass movements; and Mott MacDonald’s Joe Newhouse who completed his thesis on Ground movement due to shaft construction at Imperial College.

Judges also awarded Joe Newhouse, who recently won the 49th Cooling Prize, a highly commended for his dissertation.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.