Unsupported browser

For a better experience, please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

BGA Medal winners announced

The British Geotechnical Association (BGA) has announced the winners of the BGA Medal as Ramboll geotechnical engineer Olufemi Ajayi and University of Southampton’s professor of geotechnical engineering William Powrie and senior research fellow Louis Le Pen and senior lecturer Antonis Zervos.

The group won the award for their work on “A Behavioural Framework for Fibre-reinforced Gravel” which was published in Géotechnique in December 2016.

The award will be offically presented tomorrow at the BGA annual conference at the Institution of Civil Engineers in London.

The BGA Medal is presented annually by the BGA to a paper submitted to the award that it substantially authored by a BGA member or BGA members that has been published in an international journal or at an ISSMGE or ISRM conference.

This year’s winning paper discusses how random fibre reinforcement of railway ballast can improve strength and ductility, and reduce the susceptibility of ballast to the ongoing settlement that necessitates periodic maintenance interventions. Based on a series of triaxial tests on scaled materials, the paper develops a behavioural framework that accounts for the additional effective confining stress in the granular matrix resulting from the fibre tensions. It has been used to specify field trials now in progress on London Underground. The work was supported financially by the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council and Network Rail.

The full reference for the paper is Ajayi, O, Le Pen, L, Zervos, A and Powrie, W (2017). A behavioural framework for fibre-reinforced gravel. Géotechnique 67, No. 1, 56–68.


Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.