Unsupported browser

For a better experience, please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

BGA reveals three Fleming Award finalists

The British Geotechnical Association has announced that two Scottish landslide remedial projects and Claridge’s basement will go head to head to compete for this year’s Fleming Award.

The event, sponsored by Cementation Skanska, will take place at the Institution of Civil Engineers in London on 6 December and project teams will present their entries to the audience and a panel of judges.

The annual event is held in memory of Cementation Skanska chief engineer Ken Fleming and recognises excellence in the practical application of geotechnics in a project or a part of a project.

The shortlist for this year’s event are the A77 Cairnryan Slip Remediation, which will be presented by WSP, Scotland Transerv, Raynesway and Transport Scotland; Claridge’s basement extension, which will be presented by McGee Group, Arup and RKD Consultants; and the Gardenstown Landslide Stabilisation, which will be presented by Aberdeenshire Council, Atkins and Bam Ritchies.

While the judges deliberate over the winner, JRL Civil Engineering general manager Yvonne Ainsworth will deliver a keynote lecture entitled Pay Peanuts, Get Monkeys in which she will examine the paradox of driving down costs without increasing risk, while the sector adapts to modern working practices.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.