Unsupported browser

For a better experience, please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

GE Awards winners announced

More than 700 people gathered at the Park Lane Hilton earlier today to hear the winners of the 2015 GE Awards announced.

“The entries this year clearly demonstrate the huge impact the UK ground engineering profession continues to have, not just on the UK market, but also the global infrastructure sector,” said GE editor Claire Smith in her opening address.

“Today’s winners, as well as the finalists, have demonstrated how the geotechnics industry has continued to push forward innovation to benefit efficiency, improve safety and provide value.”

Ahead of the announcement of the awards by comedian and presenter Simon Evans, Smith introduced the judging panels that helped to decide on the winners.

“We introduced a new approach to judging this year with a greatly expanded panel of judges representing clients, academia, consultants and contractors from across the geotechnical sector and its supply chain,” said Smith.

“The live judging has reinforced the integrity of the awards with judges able to grill the candidates to clarify the details in their written submissions.”

2015 Winners

Rising Star Award
Sponsored by Bachy Soletanche
Winner: Rebecca Fasham, Amey
Highly commended: Isaac Griffiths, Atkins

Sustainability Award
Sponsored by Lafarge Tarmac
Winner: United Utilities – Discontinuance: Returning Hurst Reservoir to the landscape
Highly commended: VHE Construction, Aecom, Provectus and Clyde Gateway – Shawfield Remediation, Glasgow

Health and Safety Award
Sponsored by Select Plant Hire
Winner: Bachy Soletanche – Remote control unloading for piling rigs

Product and equipment innovation
: Utterberry wireless sensors
Highly commended: Stress UK – Reforce permeation systems for underpin piling, ground anchors, ground consolidation and stabilisation

Technical Excellence
: Utterberry – Use of wireless sensors for remote monitoring during construction of the Eleanor Street shaft and adits for Crossrail

Consultant of the Year
Sponsored by Bauer Technologies
Winner: Donaldson
Highly commended: Arup

Contractor of the Year
Sponsored by Atkins
Winner: Van Elle
Highly commended: Balfour Beatty Ground Engineering

Ground Investigation Specialist of the Year
: Lankelma

Ground Investigation Project of the Year
: Atkins, Horizon Nuclear Power and Structural Soils – Wylfa Newydd detailed onshore ground investigation

UK Project with a Geotechnical Value of up to £0.5m
: Pell Fischmann for Hill Road Studios, London
Highly commended: Donaldson Associates – Stabilisation of a soil pillar adjacent to Eastern Ticket Hall at Bond Street Crossrail Station

UK Project with a Geotechnical Value between £0.5M to £1M
: Soil Engineering Geoservices with the Morgan Sindall, Vinci and Bachy Soletanche joint venture – West Ham ground investigation

UK Project with a Geotechnical Value between £1M and £3M
: United Utilities and Bachy Soletanche – Tunnel grouting works for Fleetwood waste water treatment works

UK Project with a Geotechnical Value over £3M
: Transport Scotland with the Jacobs Arup joint venture, Ramboll and Forth Crossing Bridge  Constructors – Queensferry Crossing, Firth of Forth
Highly Commended: Keller and Taylor Woodrow Bam Nuttall joint venture – Victoria Station Upgrade

International Project of the Year Award
: Züblin Spezialtiefbau, Division Ground Engineering – Söderströmstunneln, Citybanan, Stockholm Sweden

Editor’s Award
: Mott MacDonald and Crossrail for the accelerated programme for the Moorgate shaft at Crossrail’s Liverpool Street Station

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.