Unsupported browser

For a better experience, please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

GE Next Generation Awards shortlist announced

Ground Engineering is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2015 GE Next Generation Awards, following a record number of entries.

The high standard of entries will make it particularly challenging for our judges to choose a winner for each of the seven categories.

Shortlisted candidates have been invited to demonstrate their skills and knowledge to the judging panels during interviews, which will take place in London on 14 and 15 October.

The winners will be announced at an evening drinks reception on 19 November.

Crossrail chairman Terry Morgan, who is a strong advocate of developing opportunities in construction for young people, has been confirmed as the guest speaker for the event.

Ground Engineering Apprentice of the Year

Sponsored by:

Bachy logo

Chris Cochrane, Bachy Soletanche
John Martin, Bachy Soletanche
Lewis Knights, Keller
Lucy Clark, Bachy Soletanche
Mitchell Newington-Evans, Cementation Skanska

Young Geoenvironmental Engineer of the Year

Adam Shelton, Arup
Grant Plain, CampbellReith
Josh Jones, ESI

Young Ground Investigation Specialist of the Year

Fiona Connor, ESG
Gemma Sherwood, Atkins
Hannah Breen, Atkins
Katherine Jawed, Aecom
Simon Phelpstead, Geotechnical Engineering

Postgraduate Student of the Year

Anastasios Stavrou, Aecom
Mohammed Hussain, University of Exeter
Qiushi Yu, UCL
Tom Clinton, Amey
Vicky Corcoran, Atkins/Imperial College London

Undergraduate of the Year

Sponsored by:

Atkins logo

Ben Bennett, Birmingham University/Atkins
Jack Taggart, Portsmouth University/Ramboll
Susie McAllister, Imperial College London
Tony Bowerman, Atkins/UCL

Young Geotechnical Engineer (up to 26) of the Year

Gillian Steele, Opus International Consultants (UK)
Hazel Short, Arup
James Powner, Atkins
Jo Jackson, Atkins
Will Howlett, Arup

Young Geotechnical Engineer (26-30) of the Year

Sponsored by:

Next Generation Awards 2014

Keri Fitzpatrick, ByrneLooby
Marianne Walsh, Arup
Matina Sougle, ByrneLooby
Monica Steele, Amey
Nick Fearnhead, Atkins


Readers' comments (2)

  • Good luck to all those shortlisted. Great to see so many females shortlisted, it's a good sign that the industry is embracing gender equality.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

  • Great to see two recent graduates from the B Eng in Engineering Geology & Geotechnics at the University of Portsmouth being shortlisted: Jack Taggart and Simon Philpstead - well done to both.

    Unsuitable or offensive? Report this comment

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.