Unsupported browser

For a better experience, please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Loughborough’s Harry Postill wins 50th anniversary Cooling Prize

Loughborough University research associate in geotechnical asset performance Harry Postill was announced as the winner of the 50th anniversary Cooling Prize last night.

cooling 1

cooling 1

The 2019 Cooling Prize was won by Harry Postill (second from left) and beat off competition from Saleh Jalbi (left) and Jay Lobwein (far right). Christine Cooling (second from right) – daughter of Leonard Cooling for whom the prize is named – delivered a key note lecture about the development of the prize and her father’s career before presenting the prizes.

Postill’s presentation on Clay cut slope deterioration, climate change and maintenance beat off competition by two other finalists to be declared to winner by the judging panel.

The other competitors were Robert Bird and Partners design engineer Saleh Jalbi who presented his work on Practical methods to predict the dynamic performance of offshore wind turbines considering foundation-structure interaction which he undertook at the University of Surrey and Jacobs graduate geotechnical engineer Jay Lobwein who presented his work on Investigating the salinity impact on ground subsidence in Jakarta from his work at imperial college.

Speaking at the start of the event, British Geotechnical Association chairman Martin Preene said: “The standard of entries this year was high and getting onto the shortlist is an achievement in itself.”

All three delivered their papers to the audience and a panel of judges formed by Mott MacDonald technical director Sergio Solera, 2018 Cooling Prize winner Joe Newhouse who also works for Mott MacDonald as a geotechnical engineer, City University London professor of soil mechanics Sarah Stallebrass and Buro Happold assicate director Rachel Montieth.

Before announcing the winner, Solera said: “All the presentations were excellent and interesting but also very different from each other, which made it difficult to choose the winner. However, we have chosen Harry Postill as the winner.”

Other judges later said that Postill’s content, delivery and the way he handled audience questions following his presentation singled his performance out from the other two.

cooling 2

cooling 2

Around 25 former Cooling Prize winner’s gathered to watch the 2019 event

During the evening, Christine Cooling – daughter of Leonard Cooling for whom the prize is named – delivered a key note lecture about the development of the prize and her father’s career. While judges deliberated over the winner, winner of the first Cooling Prize in 1970 Howard Roscoe delivered a retrospective of the Ashford Tunnels on HS1 in Kent.

Want to read more? Subscribe to GE’s enewsletters and follow us on Twitter and LinkedIn


Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.